Zoning Officer

Link to Junkyard Statute and All Zoning Docs/Forms (right column)

Due to COVID 19, face coverings are required for in person meeting in the Zoning Office only.

603.539.7147

Office located in modular offices behind the municipal building.

Zoning Enforcement Officer Email Office Hours
Rebecca Boyden Email Rebecca Tues. 4:30pm – 6pm

Building Permits are required in the Town of Effingham. If you have any questions as to whether a building project requires a permit, please contact the Zoning Enforcement Officer. The Building Permit application and Grid, as well as the Zoning Ordinance, can be found online in the ‘Docs, Forms & Applications’ link in the left hand column on the home page.

The Zoning Enforcement Officer (ZEO) is always ready to advise a property owner on procedures involving the Effingham Zoning Ordinance and provides services in the following areas:  receives permit applications; reviews files; performs site visits; grants or denies permits; makes referrals to the Planning Board and the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

The ZEO provides support for the Planning Board on Zoning Regulations revisions and the Board of Selectmen on floodplain activity.

If there is a zoning violation the ZEO reviews the file, makes a site visit, writes a letter to the property owner inquiring “What’s Up” and follows up with an effort at resolution, monitoring the situation or a Notice of Violation.

Upcoming Events

Sun, 31 Oct 2021
Halloween
Mon, 1 Nov 2021
6:30 pm Conservation Commission
Tue, 2 Nov 2021
9:00 am Select Board Mtg
Thu, 4 Nov 2021
6:30 pm Planning Board Mtg
Mon, 8 Nov 2021
7:00 pm Historic District Commission
Tue, 9 Nov 2021
9:00 am Select Board Mtg
Wed, 10 Nov 2021
Marine Corps Birthday
Thu, 11 Nov 2021
Veterans Day
Tue, 16 Nov 2021
9:00 am Select Board Mtg
6:00 pm Budget Committee
Thu, 18 Nov 2021
6:30 pm Planning Board Work session
Tue, 23 Nov 2021
9:00 am Select Board Mtg
6:00 pm Budget Committee