Zoning Officer

Link to Junkyard Statute and All Zoning Docs/Forms (right column)

Due to COVID 19, face coverings are required for in person meeting in the Zoning Office only.

603.539.7147

Office located in modular offices behind the municipal building.

Zoning Enforcement Officer Email Office Hours
Rebecca Boyden Email Rebecca Tues. 4:30pm – 6pm

Building Permits are required in the Town of Effingham. If you have any questions as to whether a building project requires a permit, please contact the Zoning Enforcement Officer. The Building Permit application and Grid, as well as the Zoning Ordinance, can be found online in the ‘Docs, Forms & Applications’ link in the left hand column on the home page.

The Zoning Enforcement Officer (ZEO) is always ready to advise a property owner on procedures involving the Effingham Zoning Ordinance and provides services in the following areas:  receives permit applications; reviews files; performs site visits; grants or denies permits; makes referrals to the Planning Board and the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

The ZEO provides support for the Planning Board on Zoning Regulations revisions and the Board of Selectmen on floodplain activity.

If there is a zoning violation the ZEO reviews the file, makes a site visit, writes a letter to the property owner inquiring “What’s Up” and follows up with an effort at resolution, monitoring the situation or a Notice of Violation.

Upcoming Events

Mon, 12 Dec 2022
6:00 pm Historic District Commission
Tue, 13 Dec 2022
3:30 pm Select Board Mtg
Thu, 15 Dec 2022
6:30 pm Plan Board Work session
Tue, 20 Dec 2022
11:00 am BoS Worksession
Sun, 25 Dec 2022
Christmas
Mon, 26 Dec 2022
Christmas (Observed)
Tue, 27 Dec 2022
3:30 pm Select Board Mtg
Sun, 1 Jan 2023
New Year's Day
Mon, 2 Jan 2023
New Years Day (Observed)
6:30 pm Conservation Commission
Tue, 3 Jan 2023
6:00 pm Budget Committee
Wed, 4 Jan 2023
7:00 pm ZBA Meeting